Jeezy Maintains Consistency with New Album

  Jeezy may have dropped the Young from his moniker a few years ago, but has maintained the signature sound and adlibs that broke him into the industry with his latest effort I Might Forgive… but I Don’t Forget. In addition to the familiar adlibs of “haha”‘s and the occasional “let’s get it,” The Snowman has shown a bit of growth in his content. Songs like “Don’t Cheat” which claims real men don’t cheat and “Delusional” in which he raps about surviving the street life to leave it.  Keeping it true to his classic sound on tracks like “I Might Forgive”, “My Name” and “Shine On.”  The beginning of the album is dominated by producer Ricky Polo who does his best Trap or Die impersonations, with trappy leads and deep sub bass, certain to please the slab riders with bass for the system.  The second half is dominated by J.U.S.T.I.C.E League who diversifies the sound a bit with tracks like “If I’m Being Honest,” “Titanic” and “Expectations.” Their use of timely samples, raucous intros and interesting percussion is what changes the tone of the project just enough. The project is 29 tracks deep, which seems a bit lengthy for this era and tends to drag on a little too long. Jeezy raps about his typical content of drug tales and thug type references, while showing maturity talking about real estate, relationships and the responsibilities of a legal businessman.  For the loyal Jeezy fan, this project will more than fill their appetites, however it will do very little to draw in new younger fans. Jeezy has found a formula that works and doesn’t stray very far from it.  Favorite Track – “Shine On” Least favorite track – “Nothing to Prove” Album rating 6/10

App coming soon
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :